Update 30 Aug 09

Good morning~! (Good evening for those back home)

XD Just an update. I have been incredibly busy!! I’ve decided that I will seperate this blog into Updates that just let you know what I’m up to and Articles that are more, uh, focused on one particular subject. 🙂

Today is Sunday! 🙂 Today I am supposed to visit my school for the first time (I hope we get the uniforms today b/c school starts on Tues) with Zhang Yao, a friend of Coco’s who I emailed before I arrived. Then we’re going to his house to play with their Wii with his little sister Joy (she’s so cute!).

Yesterday and the day before was my official orientation in Taiwan hosted by rotary. It was at a super swanky, famous hotel in Huanlien, which is 3 hours south of Taipei. Huanlien is famous for it’s “mochi” (pronounced mwuh-chi) desert. Mine was pretty gross. It was filled with grainy sesame… The Brazillian girl’s was good. I think I can come to like it. I also bought an icecream mochi filled with vanilla but it melted before I could eat it. 😦 I bought my host family some Okinawa brown sugar mochi.

The orientation was fun. We saw an aboriginal performance group called Pakalangay (?) of the Ah Mei tribe. The men wear these really gorgeous, elaborate short skirts in this society and the women wear long skirts. It’s also a matriarchal society, so women have the power. 🙂 It was super neat. Their dances and songs were great. I have video, so look out for it.

I only have 7 min left. 😦

Look forward to more updates on the past few days and some articles on:
Money
Food
My Host Fam
Exchange Students
Notable Differences
MRT
An event that was like I was in a drama

Love you all!

Leave a comment