Update Wed 2 Sept 09

Titi Margie: You are so adorable!Ā  I love you and hope all is well. And of course you can come to the salon with me!!!!!!!

Ni men hao!

^^ As you can see, it’s 10:37 pm right now. And I have school tom (6 am I get up). So, that means I must make this quick.

I’m shocked at the lack of time I have. šŸ˜¦ Okay… where to begin? Oh wow… I never finished the orientation explanation (rhymes!).

Okay, so in orientation I discovered that I’m not the type to be best friends with someone in 2 days, that Taiwanese ppl are HOT, and that Taiwan is the most beautiful country in the world! My group (Group Shi (pronounced “sure”, means “10”)) came up with a cute dance around the word panda (panda was our team name). I have a vid I’ll upload eventually. It goes: To the bingo song– P A N D A, P A N D A then we chanted Shoma Shoma~! (panda in Chinese), pan pan pan, Shoma Shoma, tsun tsun tsun, Shoma shoma, We are the best!

Okay, enough with the useless details…

There was also acapella karaoke on the train.

So, that was Fri and Sat in a nutshell. Sunday… I was suppose to visit my school but our plans were ruined (long story) so my host parents just showed me how to use the bus. Then we went shopping (I am now the proud owner of a ton of cute Taiwanese (and American…) clothes, shoes, accessories, and an ipod touch) all day.

My host mother hates to cook (she says she’s not a real woman b/c of that. LOL!) so we eat out for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. GOOD ass food too. Not the Chinese stuff. The Thai and Korean stuff. MMMMMMMMMmmmmmmmMMMmmm. There’s this little stand right outside my house where I eat breakfast. They sell the best breakfast food in the world for as cheap as US$0.48 to as “expensive” as US$1.00. XD Today I ate a “breakfast burger.” It was one of the most delicious things I have ever had (and I grew up on Puerto Rican food, okay?).

Mon I sat for HOURS to apply for my alien registration and staying visa. Another YEP (exchange student) was there so it was fun. Chris from Canada. Pretty funny. His host mom teaches Chinese to foreigners (cha-ching!). I ate icecream at this cool trendy place and they had Obama Chocolate Brownie Icecream. I’m having that next time.

Tues I got my uniform and went to school. Then shopping. Again. XD I’m so lucky!

Wed (today) was my first full day of school. In short: school is on a mountain, so I literally have to climb over 8 stories of stairs several times a day. -_- They couldn’t have found a worse place to build a school. I have 2 friends: Wei Yun and Julie, who both speak English and some ppl I talk to. Manon (Fr), Quentin (Fr), and Miguel (Mex) all go to school with me, but where in diff classes (thankfully). I like all of them very, very much. Miguel’s bday is this Friday so I’m buying him a little treat. A bunch of YEP are going to celebrate but it’s at the beach and anyone who knows me knows I’d rather die than be seen in public in a bathing suit.

The yellow and green uniforms are as ugly as predicted but the skirt is way cuter in person. šŸ™‚ And a little side note: I have now taken two diff routes to and from school by myself! šŸ™‚

Okay, so now for the grand finale! šŸ™‚ Tonight was our welcoming party from our host club of Hsientien (Quentin (Q) and I are hosted by the same club so the dinner was in honor of us). We ate at this SUPER swanky restaurant with lots of ppl. In short, I got a cute Chinese pencil bag, NT$4000 for my month’s allowance (it’s about
US$125), and a FREAKING SUPER JUNIOR CALENDAR! Turns out one of the rotarians owns a major printing business and they get to make SJ calendars. He gave me and Q a calendar and is going to give me a poster. I LOVE it. Another rotarian owns a major cd company (I don’t know the details) and he gets tickets to concerts for free. Last year, he took another YEP to see SJ in concert. XDDDDDD (SJ came to Taiwan a few weeks ago for Taiwan’s major music award show… and I wasn’t here yet….). The bad news is I didn’t get to meet this powerful man. The really good news is, I’m going to the movies with this SUUUUUUUPER hot Taiwanese boy who went to Hungary for exchange this past year and happens to be this rich, pwrful, SJ-granting man’s son (I didn’t know this till afterwards).

If I come home married, you all know why! XDDDD

In other news: I saw SJ on MTV here in the salon, I’m going to dinner with a TW classmate tom, I found out that one of the exchange boys (I won’t say who b/c of privacy) not only likes boys but thinks SJ is really hot (he really likes Hangeng– watch out Lisi!). I was like:

Me: “Look at them! I love them! *starts naming them one by one*”
Exchange boy: “Hot, hot, not hot, kinda, HOOOT…”
Me: “You… you like boys?”
Exchange boy: *grins* “Sure, why not? *pulls out ipod full of pics of hot boys*”
Me: O.O *dies and goes to heaven* <333333333 *fangirl squeals*
Him: “Are you okay?” *fans me with paper*

XDDD How lucky am I? This boy and I are very close so far, so I hope we can fangirl over hot TW boys together.

Also in other news, I can recognize a couple of signs in Chinese on the MRT (like “Tienmu” and “Taipei Main Station.”) Yay!

Okay… I have to sleep!

Love you all with all my heart!

P.S. Alian (the SUUUUUUUUUUUPER hot TW boy I’m going to the movies with) says that if SJ comes to TW again while I’m here, we can go see them together.

God, what did I do to deserve all this?

1 Comment

  1. margarita rosado said,

    September 3, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    OMG what an awesome 1st week! Makes me want to go there. I better start saving my pennies! we are good, can I tell you what Fab weather we have been having? But they say we are going to pay dearly this winter. I’ll just sit by my fireplace and read all winter!!!Maybe when you come back you might have a few recipes to try on everyone. I love Korean/Taiwanese food. love my sushi too! Janelle got a 2 bed apartment, she moves in Sept. 21st 2 days b4 we leave for Florida for Carlito’s wedding. send me some pics of your hot guys! I’m going to try and make pasteles for Christmas…lot of work but tasty So glad you get to have the best experience of your life. enjoy and keep in touch titi Margie.


Leave a comment