Update 1/7/09

Hello again!

So, I’m just gonna work backwards,

-I moved host fams. For some reason, I only have two fams while most others have 3. I’m okay with this though.

They’re really nice, this one. My previous family consisted of me, my host mom, and my host dad (their daughter was on exchange to Japan so I don’t count her so much). They are extremely wealthy and let me be pretty independent (and gave me a lot of things). There was a lot more that went on with them, but I’m not gonna talk about that here.

So, this fam is pretty different. At one point there was me, a host aunt, two host parents, two older host brothers, a host grandma, and a housekeeper all living together. But now the aunt left cause she was just visiting (she lives in Hawaii). The brothers literally completely ignore me (one’s 19 and one’s 20-something), I never see the host dad, the host mom is really nice and it’s good to practice Chinese with her, but she’s a bit of a micromanager sometimes, which really bothers me. The grandma is nice but a little… hard to deal with, for me. I’ve never had to deal with old people here so I have to get used to it. They have near-deity status here, so I have to learn how to behave with them. She’s friendly and likes to show off a lot. She speaks fluent Japanese and we practice Japanese a little. Haha! Sometimes I don’t understand what she says and my host mom translates it into simpler Chinese. XD The aunt was nice but a little skiddish in my opinion. The housekeeper is nice but she has an accent cause she’s from New Zealand so we can’t understand each other at all. And, she micromanages too much too. She asked me 10 times if I wanted to eat and I told her in 6 diff ways that I wasn’t hungry. She’s not the original housekeeper. There was a 20-something year old woman from Vietnam and I REALLY liked her. She has an accent too, so we didn’t completely understand each other, but she has such a beautiful smile. She left cause her husband is sick in the hospital. I really hope she comes back.

-uh… Soon (on Feb 12) I’m leaving for a trip to the south with Quentin and his friend who’s visiting from France and some rotarians. I’m pretty excited.

-I traveled to the south and middle of Taiwan for a week. 😀 We went to two theme parks (SOOOO fun! One ride had a 90 degree drop and we sat in the front and after I felt so invigorated but probably lost some years off my life). We also went to a sheep farm, Sun Moon Lake (a really famous place, I’ve been there twice now), Gaoshiung (the second biggest city in TW), and some other places. We went to a hot springs but I didn’t go. Now I wish I had!!

-We’re on vacation from school for one month (almost all of Feb and the end of Jan) for Chinese New Years. I’m REALLY excited to see the celebrations and do some ritual stuff.

-We had two Korean boys stay with us for one week. They’re adorable and I adopted them as my little brothers. XD One’s 13 and the other is 17.

That’s all I can think of now! XD Okay, see you guys. I hope you’re all well.

Leave a comment