Update March 5th 2010

-Well, first off, as many of you already know and have wished me well for, I’ve been sick for about a week. (I used to joke before the exchange that people’s exchange blogs would taper off only to be arbitrarily revived with the inevitable “I’m sick and too busy to talk” post…. o.O Who’s laughing now?).

So, there’s nothing I can do but just move on. >.> My first host mom swore it was due to bowel problems that I don’t have. My second host mom is now sure it’s a combination of bowel problems I don’t have and exposure to too much sun I never see. She’s got me doing yoga-like movements and keeps giving me a really painful back and neck messages (all I’m gonna say is that rice wine, knuckles, and $5 coins are involved…). (“Wow Josie! Your neck’s so red!” -_- Yeah, well I wanna see YOU go through this without getting red.) Oh, that and I’m on pretty damn near house arrest for days.

But, I’m getting better so thanks for all the cute messages on FB. :D I still can’t eat much but cookies seem to have NO problem at all staying down. ;D

-The other day I saw a Chinese opera and lion dance performance. It was pretty much the coolest cultural thing I’ve ever seen in TW (or ever) so I’m really happy I want. Rest assured, there are videos and pics abound, just not on my camera (seeing as how it’s broken). Someday I’ll get them from other people and share em. :D Seeing a show like this was on my life of things to do in life, so I felt pretty damn happy after checking this off.

-Over Chinese New Year break (which ended two weeks ago) a Rotarian family took me, Quentin, and Quentin’s friend from France who was visiting (named Lucas) to the south of Taiwan (a city called Tainan). I was actually expecting some huge like fanfare/party/lions and dragons dancing in the middle of the street stuff (and I was told this was to be the case) but actually all it was was a family dinner and some fireworks. But we had a LOT of fun. :D And, meeting Lucas was one of the best things about it.

AND, he brought me Speculoos! (For the unfortunate uninitiated, Speculoos are the GREATEST COOKIES IN THE WORLD!!!!!!! I’m not kidding. It’s IMPOSSIBLE to open a pack and not eat the whole thing. They’re a French cookie [but the French get really pissed if you call them “cookies” cause that’s too insulting of a name they say] and I’d kill to eat more).

-Uh… Oh yeah! I saw Super Junior’s 2nd Asia Tour. :D <333 It was fantabulous and I had a really good spot.

-What else? Ugggghhhh… There’s so much… but I can’t remember… Did I tell you I have proof that my former host mom is evil (and nice at the same time?). And that my new host fam kinda treated me like a person occupying a room until like yesterday when I got sick (then I was kinda part of the fam).

-Okay, so that’s enough for now. :D See ya later.

Leave a comment